Do I need a dedicated DAC?

I’m no audiophile, but I definitely appreciate high quality audio. I’ve always wanted a discrete sound card or USB DAC, but I keep hearing that modern onboard DACs are more then good enough to throw out some decent quality audio.

So my question is, will a DAC in the R1000-R2000 price range noticeably improve my sound quality?

I’m a complete noob when it comes to audio hardware but I can’t help but feel that my headphones are being held back by Asrock onboard audio.
I’ve been eyeing this DAC, because of availability, and I like the portability since I’ll want to use it with my laptop as well when out and about, Sennheiser EPOS GSX 300

My current setup:
Motherboard: Asrock H270 Pro 4
Headphones: Sennheiser GSP 500

A software mixer like VB-Audio VoiceMeeter and a few hours of research and configuring can help up your audio game immensely. But for raw audio signal DAC’s are an obvious step, just not always the next step. I’ve always had bad mic audio, but I put that down to sound bouncing around the room, and mic technique.

In terms of signal noise, many of the “off the shelf manufacturer audio modules” that go on motherboards, just aren’t shielded very well. Watch any audiophile review about onboard sound, and it becomes apparent immediately, how EM interference is actually audible in your normal sound, if you turn it up far enough.

I think the best analogy for DAC’s vs onboard audio is: Stereo is to mono sound, what DAC’s are to onboard audio. You can either hear the difference and care, or you can’t and don’t. And that’s fine, either way

1 Like

I have a pair of Razer Blackshark V2 and Logitech G Pro X headsets, each with their respective USB DACs. They sound audibly better when using the headphones with the supplied DAC. I’ve never really considered using a bespoke sound card or DAC, until I experienced it with the pairs of headphones. I’m now a bit of an evangelist for either of these headsets or a headset+DAC setup.

1 Like