Getting started in a career in programming

So my cousin phoned me today and asked some advice. His son is finishing high school this year and is interested in programming. Basically he asked me where to start or what course to buy and after thinking for a while, I realized that I have no idea.

I taught myself and by the time I left school, I could already do some basic programming in Clipper/dBase, Turbo Pascal, C++ (dos) and had written multiple things in VB3,4 and 5. After matric, I started MCSD self study and got a job offer from the place where I wrote my MCP exams (QData), 5 months after leaving school.
Now in my case, there was a lot of luck involved with pieces falling in the right place at the right time, so this isn’t really a story I can tell him as a guide to get started. I have no idea if he has any experience or skills yet.

So what are your thoughts on how a high school graduate can get started in a career in programming?

2 Likes

Having gone through first and second year material at the university level 2 or 3 times for various reasons, I can honestly say it is more about good coding ethics (documentation, best practices, etc) and understanding core fundamentals is way more important than picking a language itself. If you pick a language, and decide that’s the market you’re interested in, you can certainly excel, and even surpass others, but if that language dies, you’ll be doing maintenance for the rest of your life.

If he is considering focusing on online services, Go (aka golang) is a growing market right now. It is a language more or less designed for web services, but it has a simplicity to it that makes it easy to learn.