Local Area Network Gaming - The LAN!

Since the average age around here is at least 30+ I can confidently say that you’ve been to at least one, if not scores of LANs in your day. I am one of the few diehard traditionalists who carry on the sacred practice of the LAN along with a group of friends I’ve known since primary school. A couple of times a year, mostly when there is a public holiday we drag our PC’s to my one friend’s offices and set up a good old LAN. Despite the fact that most games have gone online only, there’s actually been a decent resurgence in games over the local network that are a ton of fun to play with your buds in the same room.

Serious Sam 3/4, Earth Defence Force series, Supreme Commander, Satisfactory, Factorio.

So let’s kick it back and reminisce, and tell us those favourite LAN stories…

3 Likes

When I was a teacher, I hijacked the school computer room once or 2x a year, removed all the networking (was UTP cables back then) and moved the PCs out of the way.

I then invited my computer club to bring their PCs for the weekend. I then gave them cables, plugs and crimping tools and spare network cards and showed them a router and said: get yourself connected or you aren’t playing.

Keep in mind, this was just as networking became a thing, they had to figure out drivers, compatibility issues and connect up to play D2, Hexen, Doom etc. They could not use their phones… well because no one had any that could connect to the internet, wifi and cell data was not a thing yet.

Fun times.

4 Likes

It was the late 20th century. Quake 2 was all the rage. We booked out a double conference room in a hotel and kept tripping the breakers at first while 64+ people set up their PCs.

It was glorious.

4 Likes