Safety in Centurion

So the people living here in Centurion, do any of you live outside of an estate and those who do, what has your experience been with crime?

We have to get a new house as this 3 bedroom is simply too small with the twins and with player number 3 on the way, this is just getting more desperate.
So the new house must be spacious, at least 4 bedrooms with an office and must have a relatively decent sized yard. They exist in estates, but the prices and/or levies are insane.

So basically I’m left with the choice of getting something small and extremely secure in an estate or a palace outside of an estate for the same price. I’ve pretty much moved directly into an estate when I moved to the city so I have no experience of how crime and things are outside.

3 Likes

Grats on no 3 - cant help with the security issue since I avoid going outside my republic :stuck_out_tongue:

3 Likes

Centurion isn’t all that safe anymore, unfortunately. Even though we don’t live there anymore, we’re still on many community groups listing constant break-ins, murders, hi-jackings and other serious crimes. I wouldn’t recommend staying in an unsecured suburb, unfortunately.

4 Likes

I have first-hand and second-hand experience with various house / complex / estate living arrangements in Centurion.

Not going to give away too many specifics about how I know these things on a public platform, but here are the basics:

1. 25 years in free-hold house in Lyttelton, three break-ins: (1) In the first, thieves only got a DVD player before seemingly getting scared off; (2) Second, thieves took laptop(s), screens, and any phones they could lay hands on; (3) Most recently thieves broke in and took laptops and screens. They were going for phones or something in rooms when they woke the only man in the house. He sat upright in bed and he asked “Can I help you?”. Thieves bugged out. No-one was attacked or injured in any of the above cases.