Games with a strong D&D vibe or mechanics

Lately, I’ve been getting deeply invested in Critical Role’s Campaign 3 of D&D. This is the first time I’ve spent any significant time seeing D&D in action and getting invested in the world, the lore and the game mechanics. And while it is virtually impossible for me to get into a D&D game myself due to time limitations, perhaps the world of gaming can scratch that itch in the mean while.

So, as a hardcore RPG noob, I was wondering if the community has any games to suggest. Games that are similar in mechanics or setting or feel of a typical D&D game. I’ve read some articles about it and realise that proper D&D implementation is probably not possible in a game, but surely some games come close. What are some of the suggestions for such games?

3 Likes

neverwinter nights? pathfinder wrath of the righteous? We are literally doing the wrath of the righteous campaign on pen and paper :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I believe Divinity: Original Sin a good attempt recently.

1 Like

To show you how out of touch I am, I’ve never in my life even heard of this game, but it looks very promising. But holy damn it’s expensive!! Further investigating is needed for this one.

This is something I’ve heard as well. Is there any real issue starting with Divinity: Original Sin 2 over 1, or should I start with the first one?

1 Like

If it’s more modern games you looking for, there is also the original Pathfinder: Kingmaker (quite cheap) and Baldurs Gate III (early access and not yet complete).

Its probably also worth noting that Pathfinder is not technically DnD rules, but its own system based off of version 3.5 of the DnD rules.

2 Likes

It’s currently on 20% off sale on Epic Games, at R560, but only until 6PM tonight. If you haven’t used your newsletter subscriber coupon yet, you’ll get an additional R160 off the price, so could grab it for R400.