If you are going to buy games from G2A, just pirate them instead

"Please, if you're going to buy a game from G2A, just pirate it instead! Genuinely!" That's the opinion of Mike Rose, founder of No More Robots, the label behind games like Descenders and Hypnospace.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://ink.mostepic.win/please-pirate-before-you-buy-from-g2a/
2 Likes

Having a second-hand marketplace for keys you get in bundles but never use would be great, but it seems a fraught endeavour. Even with seller verification, I wonder if the scammer element who buy up tons of keys and the charge it back on their credit card would go away?

On MEW we’ve been giving away our spare keys on Steam Gifts and such. How else are you using spare keys from bundles you don’t end up using?

2 Likes

That title image reminds me of IT Crowd

E1Kxw

2 Likes

Personally I’ve never used G2A before, and probably won’t. There is just way too much shady things that the site has done in the past.

But it does raise the question, how else are you suppose to sell old unwanted game keys. And is it really wrong to sell unused keys? Ultimately selling keys like that is very similar to selling hard copy of games. In principle there should be nothing wrong in doing that.

However, this is the internet, the wild west where the law is 53 shades of grey. Where people will buy stolen credit card details and buy keys on bulk and sell them to people for a profit. This is the issue that G2A has. In principle there is nothing wrong with the site, but because people abuse its services and effectively steal keys from developers by exploiting loopholes, that makes the site a blight in the gaming world.

Steamgifts is cool do to, but it does not benefit people in that they do not get any money from the transaction. Should they get and compensation is another question.

2 Likes