MEW Gardening Thread

Hello MEW green thumbs!

I’m a noob when it comes to gardening, but the thought of growing my own food intrigues me.

Please share your garden pics, tips, tricks, questions, etc here!

5 Likes

I have the furthest thing from green thumbs, everything I’ve ever planted has died. I’m living with my mom now though and she has the magic touch so I thought it would be a good time to grow a weed plant. Only planted the seed yesterday though.

1 Like

I used to have 12 bonsai trees, had spent about 6 years on them. I moved from the coast inland and they all died.

I am ritually chopped off my green thumb. It hurt so much.

2 Likes

I got myself 4 Habanero seedlings last week. I transplanted one into a planter that already had a potting soil/compost/sand/soil mix which was already wet, and it is going well so far.

The others, not so much.

3 Likes

I showed my mom these pics and she said you have to put like a saucer type thing underneath your pots to keep the water there so the plants don’t dry out so easily.

1 Like

I don’t think its possible to grow stuff in pots on a balcony. Everything dies!

I just recently bought a house and the garden was in a state. I had high hopes to get my saturday morning garden/garage ritual going. But I am lazy so i never did. I bought a weedeater and a lawnmower and both are still sitting in the boxes.

I think the previous owner kind of gave up with the drought in cape town and everything died. I recently discovered I have a borehole and I got some help from my brother inlaw and installed an automated irrigation system that now covers the garden. I have tried to get the grass resurrected again. but to now avail. It is coming in extremely patchy and it is irritating the shit out of me. So the plan is now to put new grass in.

There has sprouted a beautiful lily in one of the corners that has given me tremendous joy.