User interface question: applications with text field filter or search inside a context menu

Wonder if someone can help me, with my work I’m trying to find some meaningful and tangible results on menues with text fields, like the following:

Menu actioned by clicking ellipses (more options) on the header

Does anyone know of any applications, desktop or web, that actually make use of something like this?

2 Likes

Its on Chrome.

3 Likes

Are you asking about User Experience behaviour, and whether it’s automatically, understandable, in what it’s function is?

2 Likes

I’m asking for another example of where text fields are aparant on a menu.

But yes, I am a User Experience Designer thus I’m delving into the usability and psychological aspects of this.

1 Like

Generally applications on devices use elipses (or the hamburger lines) as a way to give more options. I find that few websites use them as there is enough screen real estate to have extra options available without hiding them behind an elipse menu.

1 Like

My apologies, obviously my original post was a bit vague.

I understand what the ellipses icon is there for, what I was trying to convey or ask is; can anyone give me an example of where a text field is available on one of these “drop-down” (contextual) menus?

1 Like

Nah I can’t think of any application I’ve used where a text field is in a menu like that.

2 Likes

Oh, no. Dropdowns have always had that little down pointing arrow to show that there is a dropdown option.

2 Likes

Good old Excel?

EDIT: Granted, that screenshot you shared looks terrible from a layout perspective. The toggle switch doesn’t work in that context, the orphan “:” doesn’t work and the “Show blanks” also isn’t contextualized. I would’ve also provided better distinction between sort and filter options, as well as making the (what I assume to be) heading of “Format descriptions…” actually stand out from the sorting options below it.

1 Like